Skip to content ↓

Early Years

Early Years provision at Kingsmead works in partnership with parent & carers. We promote parental contribution and celebrate the shared experiences collaboration brings. The children learn through a wide range of meaningful, multi-sensory, practical activities within a rich, creative environment.

The children in our Nursery and Reception classes follow the Early Years Foundation Stage framework. The role of play in the Foundation Stage is recognised as a crucial part of the learning journey, enabling children to develop in all areas and underpins learning in the Early Years. Children learn by leading their own play and by taking part in play which is guided by adults. Play is essential for children's development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, problem solve and relate to others which is all set within a secure and safe challenging indoor and outdoor environment.

The Early Years team respond to each child’s emerging needs and interests, guiding their development through warm, positive interaction. We aim for the children to become independent learners and thinkers.

Through observation and assessment of the children, we are able to plan personalised next steps in their learning journey that are meaningful and engaging and motivate children to take risks and become successful learners.

Over the course of the year a large class floor book is compiled, to show children's development in all seven areas of their learning. Evidence is recorded weekly through child initiated activities, adult led activities, photographs, examples of work and children's comments.  

Within the Early Years Curriculum there are four key themes, which underpin seven areas of learning:

A Unique Child - Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships – Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of caring and secure relationships with parent and staff.

Enabling Environment – The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

Learning and Development – Children learn and develop in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and interconnected.

The Seven Areas of Learning are split into primary and specific areas.     

Primary Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design